Home > Government > Committees

Several committees have been established to assist in the smooth operation of City government. Committees consist of three councilmembers, appointed to the council. The Mayor serves as an ex-officio member of all committees. The council may appoint interested citizens to committees. These Citizens-at-Large participate in discussion, but do not have a vote in the final recommendations of the committee.

Finance/Admin Committee


  • Councilmembers: David Vinton (Chair), Steven Ebert and Russ Evans
  • Committee meets the 2nd and 4th Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m.

Review, analysis and recommendation of financial policy, auditing, review reports, bills and vouchers for payment. Responsible for asset inventory and insurance coverage. Review and recommend on all functions and operations of municipal government through its departments, boards and appointive officers and relationships with other governmental agencies; included are ordinances, affirmative actions, cable, airport, civil service, disability boards. Serves as the personnel committee; responsible for public relation information, policy areas dealing with public administration, council rules and procedures, conflict of interest and ethics issues for public officials, intergovernmental relations and generally matters relating to the conduct of municipal affairs.

Public Works Committee


  • Councilmembers: Robin Albers (Chair), Skate Pierce and David Vinton
  • Committee meets the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month at 4:00 p.m. 

Review and recommend on all public utilities, including streets, storm drains, street lighting, street signing, waste water treatment plant and collection system, refuse collection, and parks. General coordination with public utilities and special purpose districts pertaining to utilities. Supervision over construction, building code enforcement and facilities. Review and recommend on all functions of land use planning such as zoning, zoning enforcement, comprehensive planning, generally coordinate and oversee matters pertaining to economic development, tourism development and promotion, coordinate with other governmental, economic and housing districts pertaining to development, responsible for short and long-range planning of capital improvement program.

Public Safety Committee


  • Councilmembers: Pat Holman (Chair), Russ Evans and Sheila McDougall
  • Committee meets the 1st and 3rd Wednesday of each month at 4:00 p.m.

Review and recommend on all issues concerning law enforcement, fire protection, emergency medical treatment, health and safety, environmental health, animal control and other issues concerning public health, safety and welfare.